jbequinephot294.gif (6448 bytes)

  Post Office Box 67
  Fulham Gardens SA

  Phone: 0412 208 011

SA Horse of the Year Oct/Nov 2008

Oct 31 & Nov 1 2008
Please email barnesphotography@bigpond.com with your postal address for proofs to be posted out directly to you after an event


This year the South Australian Horse of the Year was held on a new date (October instead of February) and at a new venue Royal Adelaide Showgrounds (instead of JVEP Park).  The first day weather was simply awful with freezing cold winds and threatening clouds all day and due to its affect on my knee I had to leave at lunchtime but overnight everything improved dramatically and Adelaide put on a lovely sunny and warm spring day for the main open class awards.

On Friday the rider classes started with the Rider under 9 years of age and a small but polished group turned out with Madeline Pagon putting on a flawless display on Dalpura Pearl to take out the class from Victoria Fricker and Caitlin Fricker.  The Junior Rider Under 14 years went to Stacey Faehrmann from Felicity Atkinson and Brooke Graham while the Intermediate Rider of the Year (14-18 years) was awarded to Tess Hughes riding Janevelyn Jazzman from Naomi Karutz and Shannen Graham.  Tess Hughes had taken out the Under 14 title in 2007 while Margot Haynes won the Senior Rider 18 years and over for the 5th time in 6 years and it was the third year in a row riding her wonderful hack Grazier.

In the second ring the Newcomer Show Hunter of the Year went to Isabelle Barker's Rivington Royal Hiccup ridden by Jasmine Anderson from Brooke & Shannen Graham's Willowcroft First choice with Ashlee Anderson's Gum Flat Rose third.  The Newcomer Show Hunter Galloway of the Year went to Alyson Emery's Ridgeview Park Cest La Vie ridden by Fenella Barker from Amy Beck's Valley View Lord Nelson while the Newcomer Show Hunter Horse of the Year was awarded to Kim Gower's Besotted from Mikaela Castley's Hampton with Kim Norris & Patricia Mann's Occasion third.  The Owner/Rider Pony 12.2 - 14hh was taken out by Sabrina Jaeschke's Holly's Plays from Stacey Faehrmann's Kolbeach Peter Pan with Elise Manley's Sanlirra Truffle third.  Rebecca Struck's Blessed won the Owner/Rider Show Horse of the Year from Andrew Riedel-Carrison's Hi-Pine Wicklow.

Saturday morning started out with the SA Show Hunter Small Pony of the Year where champion was awarded to Eleanor Ballinger's Rivington Neon from Isabelle Barker's Rivington Royal Hiccup with Ashlee Anderson's Gum Flat Rose third.  Kelli Probert's Mirinda Regatta did yet another perfect workout to take out the SA Show Hunter Large Pony of the Year for an incredible fifth year in a row from Lesley Grigg's Donlea More Champagne with Jessica Dunn's Cheraton Royal Scandal third.  In the SA Show Hunter Galloway of the year Shannen Graham's Glowing Report repeated her 2006 success in this event with Jo Gale's Willowcroft Councillor the Reserve Champion and Alyson Emery's Ridgeview Park Cest La Vie third.  The SA Show Hunter Horse of the Year saw A&C Hunt's Gryffindor, who raced successfully as Well Shod,  take out the award for the third consecutive year from N&M Bruggemann's Brookman Park Indulgence with Terrie Silver's McMaster Goodwill third.

After lunch the SA Leading Rein Pony of the Year was decided with victory awarded to C Fricker's Rivington Titmouse from Isabelle Barker's Rivington Victoria ridden by Madeline Pagon with Madeline's brother placed third on her pony Dalpura Pearl.

It was then into the main open class events of the show which saw the SA Small Pony of the Year awarded to Ashlee Anderson's Kolbeach Memoir ridden by Jasmine Anderson from Kelly Mules' Mondiso Park Peeping Tom ridden by Breanna Forster with Tom Struck's Yindarla Park Touch of Spring third.  The SA Large Pony of the Year was taken out by C Lawrie & A Penalurick's Holly Spring ridden by Margot Haynes from Kelli Probert's Sanlirra Stagelight who had won this event in 2006 with Sabrina Jaeschke's Holly's Plays third.  SA Galloway of the Year went to K White & A Giustozzi's Mirinda Versailles from Tess Hughes' Janevelyn Jazzman wit Leanne Donoghue's Donlea Valentino third.  This year the Show Horse Class had been split with the SA Small Show Horse of the Year (15-16hh) going to Leanne Donoghue's Dance For Me from Susan Castley's In Like Flynn with Margot Haynes and Chapel third.  The SA Large Horse of the Year (16hh+) went to Leanne Donghue's Flawless for the third year in a row after a faultless workout from Chris Lawrie's Black Tie with Margot Haynes' Grazier third.

Photo proofs

A - Z (Click here)


The photos included in this report are available for sale. 

Photo sizes listed at the link below.

Photo Pricing

Please email for ordering details to barnesphotography@bigpond.com

Barnes Photography Online Store
Purchase gifts and products featuring horse racing and other images by Jenny Barnes Photography
If you would like your horse's image on one or more of the products please contact Jenny Barnes (note photo must have been taken by Jenny Barnes due to copyright)
(Please note all prices on this site are in US dollars - all items are produced and distributed by Cafepress)

Barnes Photography Home Page  |  About Jenny Barnes | Racing Photos from the Past
Equestrian Stories Index
  | Racing Stories Index | Pet Photography | Racing Research Services
Champion Racehorse Profiles Photo Pricing and Services | Links Page

Purchase Champion Photos online (click here)